'Tis the season to update your privacy settings on Facebook

by Lina on December 15th, 2009 in Security Tips.

You may have heard that Facebook recently made some changes relating to privacy. As a measure to keep up with micro blogging sites, such as Twitter, Facebook has now changed its privacy settings to encourage additional sharing. This means that you can control who sees every post you share. The intent for this change is also to make privacy settings more simple and easy to understand.


Users who don’t update their privacy settings will begin publishing their status updates, photos, and videos to Everyone, as that is the new default setting. A user’s name, profile photo, gender and friend list are publicly available as well. Remember, any information that's visible to Everyone may be seen by everyone on the Internet.


To adjust your privacy settings click on Settings>Privacy Settings>


Other items, such as posts and your friends list, have to be adjusted in other places. Look for the lock icon on your profile page. Clicking on it will bring up a menu that lets you choose who will be able to see your post or your friends list.


For more information, please visit “A guide to privacy on Facebook” http://www.facebook.com/privacy/explanation.php?ref=pf